

Iwitea Hapu Representation

E nga rau rangatira ma – tena koutou katoa.

The 23 hapu of Iwitea are represented by the Iwitea Marae Committee. This has a long history of formation as documented in our marae records for at least 55 years. A summary of this is as follows.

- **1967.** Iwitea Tribal (Maori) Committee established. The first members of this committee were Hori Rewi, Mutu Te Amo, Haturu Puhara, Peter Puhara, Morris Reti, Gore Kahukura, Mohi Niania, Rua Niania, John Tamati, Bella Kumeroa and Rachel Ataria.
- **1982.** The Iwitea Marae Committee and the Iwitea Tribal (Maori) Committee were combined into one and renamed the Iwitea Combined Committee. The first members of this committee were Robbie Graham Robertson, Rachael Ataria, Bella Kumeroa, George Nicholson, Doris Nicholson, Hemaima Reti, Morris Reti, Rangi Ataria, Johnson Robinson, Pat Munro, Mandy Munro, John Tamati and Mutu Te Amo.
- **1988.** The Iwitea Combined Committee changed its name to Iwitea Marae Committee. In addition, the Iwitea Marae Trustees formed their own committee at this time.
- 2006. First Iwitea Marae Charter adopted.
- **2008.** Iwitea Marae Committee was dissolved and the Iwitea Marae Trustees became the sole committee under the name Iwitea Marae Committee. The members of this committee were William McRoberts, Mere Whaanga, Johnson Robinson, Josephine Palmer, Patrick Munro, Lil Smith, Jessie Smith Christie & George Nicholson.
- **2016.** Iwitea Urupa became part of the Iwitea Marae Committee.
- 2017. Iwitea Whakamahana Marae Trust became part of the Iwitea Marae Committee.
- **2018.** Te Whakaki-Nui-A-Rua Trust Deed ratified where under the definition of Kahui in part 'b' it is confirmed that 'nga hapu o lwitea' (with the 23 hapu listed) are represented by lwitea Marae.

2022. Iwitea Marae Committee today consists of eight trustees who are responsible for and legally represent:

- Iwitea Marae (Whakaki 2A1)
- Iwitea Cemetery (Part Ohuia)
- Iwitea Whakamahana Marae Trust (Iwitea Road Lines, Iwitea Sections, Whakaki 2D, Whakaki 2F1, Whakaki 2F2A, Whakaki 2G1, Whakaki 2G2A, Whakaki No 2 Road Lines, Wairau A)
- Nga hapu o lwitea (Ngai Tahu, Ngati Ruapani, Ngati Urewera, Ngati Hinepua, Ngai Tupaka, Ngai Te Kakari, Ngati Matawhaiti, Ngati Hikawhare, Ngai Te Koara, Ngai Te Rangihauene, Ngati Hineringa, Ngati Pukukaraka, Ngati Pokino, Ngati Hau, Ngati Rua, Ngati Kahina, Ngati Kipamaro, Ngati Kakahi, Ngati Kaituna, Ngati Patutai, Ngati Matuahanga, Ngai Teki & Ngai Te Ariari).

Pai Marire,

Nigel How,

Iwitea Marae Committee Secretary/Treasurer/Trustee

26 August 2022.